Hairspray at Broadway Palm Sept. 22 – Oct. 28

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Hairspray, Broadway’s Tony Award-winning musical comedy phenomenon, will be playing at the Broadway Palm Dinner Theatre in Fort Myers Sept. 22 through Oct. 28.

Tracy Turnblad is a 16-year-old in 1960s Baltimore and she’s ready to dance her way onto TV’s most popular show. Can a girl with big dreams (and even bigger hair) change the world? The production features the beloved score of hit songs including “Welcome to the ’60s,” “Good Morning Baltimore,” and “You Can’t Stop the Beat.”

Hairspray is based on the New Line Cinema film written and directed by John Waters, who served as a creative consultant on the musical comedy. It features a book by Mark O’Donnell and Thomas Meehan. Hairspray features an original score by Academy Award-nominated Marc Shaiman and lyrics by Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman. The additional creative team for Hairspray includes director Matt Lenz, choreographer Robbie Roby, set designer David Rockwell, costume designer William Ivey Long, hair and wig designers Paul Huntley and Bernie Ardia, music supervisor Keith Thompson and casting by Prather Productions.

“Run and Tell That” – Sage as Gilbert, Kyle Kavully as Thad, Charlie Bryant III as Seaweed J. Stubbs and company in Hairspray. Photo by Jeremy Daniel.

The cast will be led by Greg Kalafatas as Edna Turnblad, Caroline Eiseman as Tracy Turnblad and Deidre Lang as Motormouth Maybelle. Joining them are Josiah Rogers as Seaweed J. Stubbs, Skyler Shields as Link Larkin, Ralph Prentice Daniel as Wilbur Turnblad, Andrew Scoggin as Corny Collins, Caroline Portner as Amber Von Tussle, Sarah Hayes as Velma Von Tussle, Scarlett Jacques as Penny Pingleton and Kaila Symone Crowder as Little Inez. Micah Sauvageau is Male Authority Figure, and Emmanuelle Zeesman is Female Authority Figure.

The ensemble consists of Abigail Bensman, Connor Buonaccorsi, Ashia Collins, Joshua James Crawford, Scoob Decker, Craig First, Audrey Taylor Floyd, Gavin Guthrie, Alyssa Jacqueline, Leiah Lewis, Christy Oberndorf, Kynnedi Moryaé Porter, Caroline Purdy, Kalab Quinn, Josiah Thomas Randolph, Amy Rodriguez, Sage, Scott Silagy, Cara Torchia, Lilliannie Arie Urgent and James Douglas Vinson.

Hairspray premiered at Seattle’s 5th Avenue Theater in June of 2002. The show was a smash hit when it transferred to Broadway, winning eight 2003 Tony Awards including Best Musical, and became the longest-running musical to play the Neil Simon Theater, running 2,642 performances from July 18, 2002, until Jan. 4, 2009. It is the 22nd longest running show in Broadway history.

To purchase tickets, visit, call 239-278-4422 or in person at 1380 Colonial Blvd. Fort Myers.


About Author

SWFHappenings Magazine is the best news source for local arts, music, theater and all around entertainment events.

Leave A Reply